Sergio Pablos’ “Klaus” Earns BAFTA Film Award

Sergio Pabloscontinues his winning ways…

The BAFTA Film Awards were awarded Sunday evening at London’s Royal Albert Hall, with the Spanish animator, director and screenwriter’s acclaimed animated holiday film Klaus taking home a prize. 


Klausbeat out Frozen 2Toy Story 4and A Shaun The Sheep Movie: Farmageddon for the Animated Filmaward.

The Oscar-nominatedfilm swept the Annie Awardsearlier this year, taking home seven trophies.

Klaus, Pablos’ directorial debut from a script he wrote, is also a finalist for the Humanitas Prize.

The BAFTA Awards are doled out by The British Academy of Film and Television Arts.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Best Film

Outstanding British Film

Best Director
Sam Mendes (“1917”) 

Leading Actress
Renée Zellweger (“Judy”)

Leading Actor
Joaquin Phoenix (“Joker”) 

Supporting Actor
Brad Pitt (“Once Upon A Time… in Hollywood”) 

Supporting Actress
Laura Dern (“Marriage Story”)

Adapted Screenplay
Taika Waititi (“Jojo Rabbit”)

Original Screenplay
Han Jin Won, Bong Joon-ho (“Parasite”) 

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
Mark Jenkin, Kate Byers, Linn Waite (“Bait”) 

Original Score
Hildur Guđnadóttir (“Joker”) 

Roger Deakins (“1917”) 

EE Rising Star Award
Micheal Ward

Film Not In The English Language
Bong Joon-ho (“Parasite”)

Waad al-Kateab, Edward Watts (“For Sama”) 

Animated Film
Sergio Pablos, Jinko Gotoh (“Klaus”)

Shayna Markowitz (“Joker”) 

Andrew Buckland, Michael McCusker (“Le Mans ’66”) 

Production Design
Dennis Gassner, Lee Sandales (“1917”)

Costume Design
Jacqueline Durran (“Little Women”)

Makeup and Hair
Vivian Baker, Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan (“Bombshell”) 

Scott Millan, Oliver Tarney, Rachael Tate, Mark Taylor, Stuart Wilson (“1917”)

Special Visual Effects
Greg Butler, Guillaume Rocheron, Dominic Tuohy (“1917”) 

British Short Animation
Maryam Mohajer (“Grandad Was a Romantic”) 

British Short Film
Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl”) 

Leave a Reply