Bruno Mars Earns Five BET Award Nominations

Bruno Mars is serious BET Awards bait…

The 31-year-old part-Puerto Rican singer has picked up five nods for the 2017 BET Awards.

Bruno Mars

Among his nods, Mars is nominated in the Best Male R&B/Pop Artist category, as well as Album of the Year for his critically acclaimed LP 24K Magic and Video of the Year for album’s title track.

Kehlani has picked up a nod. The 22-year-old part-Spanish American singer is nominated in the Best Female R&B/Pop Artist category.

And, Fat Joe is up for Best Group alongside Remy Ma.

The BET Awards will air live on June 25 from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles at 8 p.m. ET. The awards ceremony will cap off the annual BET Experience at L.A. Live in Los Angeles from June 22-25.

The BET Awards will also recognize achievements in film, television, sports and international music acts across more than 19 categories.

A complete list of the 2017 BET Awards nominees is available at the BET Awards‘ official website, but take a look at some of the categories below. 

Best Female R&B/Pop Artist
Mary J. Blige

Best Male R&B/Pop Artist
Bruno Mars
Chris Brown
The Weeknd
Trey Songz

Best Group
2 Chainz & Lil Wayne
A Tribe Called Quest
Fat Joe & Remy Ma
Rae Sremmurd 

Best Collaboration
Beyoncé ft. Kendrick Lamar – “Freedom”
Chance the Rapper ft. 2 Chainz & Lil Wayne – “No Problem”
Chris Brown ft. Gucci Mane & Usher – “Party”
DJ Khaled ft. Beyoncé & Jay Z – “Shining”
Migos ft. Lil Uzi Vert – “Bad and Boujee”
Rae Sremmurd ft. Gucci Mane – “Black Beatles” 

Best Male Hip-Hop Artist
Big Sean
Chance the Rapper
Kendrick Lamar  

Best Female Hip-Hop Artist
Cardi B
Missy Elliott
Nicki Minaj
Remy Ma
Young M.A. 

Video of the Year
Beyoncé – “Sorry”
Big Sean – “Bounce Back”
Bruno Mars – “24K Magic”
Migos ft. Lil Uzi Vert – “Bad and Boujee”
Solange – “Cranes in the Sky”  

Video Director of the Year
Benny Boom – Kehlani, “CRZY”
Bruno Mars & Jonathan Lia – Bruno Mars, “That’s What I Like”
Director X – Zayn Malik, “Like I Would”
Hype Williams – Tyga “Gucci Snakes ft. Desiigner”
Kahlil Joseph & Beyoncé Knowles-Carter – Beyoncé, “Sorry” 

Best New Artist
21 Savage
Cardi B
Chance the Rapper
Young M.A. 

Album of the Year
24K Magic – Bruno Mars
4 Your Eyez Only – J. Cole
A Seat at the Table – Solange
Coloring Book – Chance the Rapper
Lemonade – Beyoncé

Miguel Provides New Track for “BET Presents Music Matters Vol. 1” Compilation

There’s no denying that music matters to Miguel… And, nowhe’s proving it. 

BET Networks and its new artist program Music Matters has partnered with Louder Than Life/Red Associated Labels to launch a compilation album series: BET Presents Music Matters Vol. 1, which features new music from the 28-year-old half-Mexican American singer-songwriter.


The compilation, also featuring new music from Big Sean, Mack Wilds, Melanie Fiona and The Internet, will be released June 23 in support of the second annual BET Experience (June 27-29). The three-day music and lifestyle festival culminates with the BET Awards on June 29, hosted by Chris Rock.

Miguel’s track for the 15-track compilation is called “Gravity.”

Now available for preorder at Amazon, the album sports a mix of established acts and rising stars. Music Matters is a multiplatform initiative that provides exposure for groundbreaking talent across BET and Centric, in addition to national tours and monthly showcases.

Miguel, Kendrick Lamar, Elle Varner, J. Cole and Marsha Ambrosius are among the artists who have been spotlighted by Music Matters.

Salaam Remi, who founded Louder Than Life and doubles as executive vice president A&R and production at Sony Music Entertainment, is the executive producer of the BET Presents Music Matters compilation album series. Collaborating with Remi is Kelly G, senior director of music programming for BET Networks.

Here’s the Complete Track List:

1. “Music Matters Theme” — Marsha Ambrosius
2. “Gravity” — Miguel
3. “Prove” — Gabi Wilson
4. “My Crib” (Remix) — Mack Wilds featuring Pusha T
5. “It’s a Man’s World” — Adrian Marcel
6. “Lit” — Bas featuring J. Cole and KQuick
7. “Memories” — Big Sean
8. “Dontcha” — The Internet
9. “Walking Shoes” — Mali Music
10. “Liquid Love” — Chris Turner
11. “Under the Covers” — Curtis Fields
12. “Touch” — Ashley Kimbrae
13. “Cold Case” — Elle Varner
14. “Where It Counts” — Melanie Fiona
15. “Friends and Lovers” — Marsha Ambrosius