Christian Nodal Wins Two Awards at the Premios de la Radio

Christian Nodal is the reyof radio…

This year’s Premios de la Radio have been doled out, recognizing the best of Regional Mexican music, with the 20-year-old Mexican singer and songwriter taking home two awards.

Christian Nodal

Nodal nabbed Male Artist of the Year and Mariachi Song of the Year for his single “De Los Besos Que Te Di.” 

Banda MStook home the night’s biggest prize… Artist of the Year. The Mexican band was also named Banda of the Year

Other winners included Calibre 50El Fantasma, rising urban corrido artist Natanael Cano and Ana Barbara, who won Female Artist of the Year, a category that returned after three years. 

Gloria Trevi was the night’s opening act, performing a cumbia version of her single “Abranse Perras,” produced exclusively for the event by producer Toy Selectah of Control Machete. Trevi was also recognized with a special award for Highest Rated Female Mexican Star in the World.

Various tributes to place Thursday night, including a heartfelt homage by Banda MS to the late Mexican singer José José.Grupo BroncoLos Huracanes del Norteand Pancho Barrazaalso received tributes. 

Following performances by La AdictivaLos Angeles AzulesLegado 7, and others, the awards show came to an end with a special cumbia tribute to the late Selena Quintanilla with a medley performanceby Belinda(“Baila Esta Cumbia”), Chiquis(“Techno Cumbia”), Edith Marquez(“No Debes Jugar”) and Ana Barbara(“Fotos y Recuerdos”). 

Here’s the complete winner’s list:

Artist of the Year: Banda MS
Female Artist of the Year:Ana Bárbara
Male Artist of the Year: Christian Nodal
Banda of the Year: Banda MS
Banda Song of the Year: “A través del vaso” Banda los Sebastianes
Mariachi Song of the Year: “De los besos que te di” Christian Nodal
Norteño Song of the Year: “Simplemente Gracias” Calibre 50
Sierreña Song of the Year: “Lluvia en tus pestañas” Virlán García
Collaboration of the Year: “Amor a Primera Vista” Los Ángeles Azules, Belinda, Horacio Palencia y Lalo Ebratt
Corrido of the Year: “Aerolíneas Carrillo” Gerardo Ortiz y T3r Elemento
Urban Corrido of the Year: “El de la Codeína” Natanael Cano
From social media to the radio: Herencia de Patrones
Norteño Group of the Year: Grupo Firme
Sierreño Group or Artist of the Year: Fuerza Régida
Orgullo Latino Award: El Fantasma
Revelation of the Year:  Carín León

Los Huracanes del Norte Earn 19th Top 10 on Billboard’s Regional Mexican Songs Chart

Make that 19 hits for Los Huracanes del Norte

The Mexican Norteño group has notched its 19th Top 10 on Billboard’s Regional Mexican Songs airplay chat with “Con El Alma Bohemia” on the chart dated October 6.

Los Huracanes del Norte

The song moves 13-9 after logging 3.7 million in audience impressions, an increase of 12 percent.

The single is from the band’s latest album Alma Bohemia.

3BallMTY: This Year’s Billboard Mexican Music Awards MVP

The members of 3BallMTY proved to be the beaus of the ball at this year’s Billboard Mexican Music Awards.

The Mexican tribal music troupe – comprised of Erick Rincon, Sergio Zavala (Dj Sheeqo Beat) and Alberto Presenda (Dj Otto) – earned the most awards of any artist/act during Thursday night’s nationally televised awards show, which honors regional Mexican music.


This year’s 12-time nominee 3BallMTY picked up nine awards, including New Artist of the Year, Artist of the Year, Duo or Group; Song Artist of the Year and Digital Download Artist of the Year.

The awards show was broadcast live on Telemundo from Los Angeles’ Shrine Auditorium and featured genre-breaking performances from 3BallMTY together with reggaetón duo J King & Maximán, as well as more traditional fare from Conjunto Primavera and Los Huracanes del Norte.

3BallMTY’s wins helped to shine a spotlight on the dynamic nature of regional Mexican music, the top-selling Latin sub-genre in the United States. The trio of DJs, who only released their debut album last year – and who had their network performance premiere on the first Billboard Mexican Music Awards – also won Songs Artist of the Year and Song of the Year for the single “Inténtalo,” featuring El Bebeto and América Sierra.

“In Mexico there have always been new waves,” said 3Ball MTY’s Zavala on the red carpet outside of Los Angeles’ Shrine Auditorium. “We brought something fresh with the electronic sound [and] tribal is really growing.”


Meanwhile, last year’s big winner, norteño star Gerardo Ortiz, picked up seven awards, including Artist of the Year and Artist of the Year, Male. Ortiz’s album Entre Dios y el Diablo also won the Album of the Year Award.

A special award for the evening was given to ranchera singer/songwriter Pepe Aguilar, who received Billboard‘s Legacy Award in recognition of his lengthy and rich musical trajectory that has influenced the genre and its artists.

Legendary ranchera singer Vicente Fernández, currently on a farewell tour, swept the ranchero/mariachi category, winning Ranchero/Mariachi Album of the Year for Otra Vez, Song of the Year with “El Vestido Blanco” and overall Ranchero/Mariachi Artist of the Year.

Jenni Rivera won Artist of the Year, Female and Banda Album of the Year for her album Joyas Prestadas.

Billboard Mexican Music Awards finalists and winners are determined by chart performance as chronicled in Billboard Magazine and on during the eligibility period of August 27, 2011 through August 18, 2012. Award categories are based on album and digital track sales data provided by Nielsen SoundScan and radio airplay monitored by Nielsen BDS.

For a full list of winners, click here.