Antonio Banderas Earns Best Actor Honors from National Society of Film Critics

Antonio Banderas is the national critics’ choice…

The 59-year-old Spanish actor was awarded the Best Actor prize by the National Society of Film Critics over the weekend.

Antonio Banderas

Banderas picked up the prize for his performance in Pedro Almodóvar’s Pain and Glory

The organization rolled out the winners on its official Twitteraccount. “We have 20 critics voting in New York, 9 critics voting remotely from L.A. and other cities, and 14 critics voting by proxy,” the group tweeted.

The National Society of Film Criticswas founded in 1966. Its members include critics from major papers in Los Angeles, Boston, New York, Philadelphia, and Denver.

Here’s this year’s list of winners:

Best Picture: Parasite
Director: Greta Gerwig, Little Women
Screenplay: Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won, Parasite
Cinematography: Claire Mathon,Portrait of a Lady on Fireand Atlantics
Actress: Mary Kay Place, Diane
Actor: Antonio Banderas, Pain and Glory
Supporting actress: Laura Dern, Marriage Storyand Little Women
Supporting actor: Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood
Non-fiction film: Honeyland
Film heritage award: Museum of Modern Art
Film heritage award: Rialto Pictures

Isaac Named Best Actor by the National Society of Film Critics

Oscar Isaac is officially the (film) critics’ choice…

The 33-year-old Guatemalan and Cuban American actor, a first time Golden Globe nominee, earned Best Actor honors from the National Society of Film Critics during the organization’s 48th annual awards over the weekend.

Inside Llewyn Davis

Isaac won the award for his starring performance in Joel and Ethan Coen’s drama Inside Llewyn Davis.

The film, which was named Best Picture at this weekend’s awards show with 23 votes, centers on Isaac’s character, a young folk singer navigating the Greenwich Village folk scene of 1961.

In all, Inside Llewyn Davis earned four awards.

The society, made up of 56 critics from across the United States, considered any film that opened in the U.S. during 2013.

The list of winners:

Best Film – Inside Llewyn Davis
Best Director – Joel and Ethan Coen (Inside Llewyn Davis)
Best Foreign Language Film – Blue Is the Warmest Color
Best Non-Fiction Film (Tie) –  The Act of Killing (Joshua Oppenheimer), At Berkeley (Frederick Wiseman)
Best Screenplay – Before Midnight (Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke)
Best Cinematography – Bruno Delbonnel (Inside Llewyn Davis)
Best Actor – Oscar Isaac (Inside Llewyn Davis)
Best Actress – Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)
Best Supporting Actor – James Franco (Spring Breakers)
Best Supporting Actress – Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle)
Experimental Film – Leviathan (Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Véréna Paravel)