Louis C.K. Picks Up Two American Comedy Awards

Louis C.K. is officially a two-time American Comedy Awards winner…

The 46-year-old Mexican American actor/comedian picked up two trophies at this year’s American Comedy Awards, which aired on NBC on May 8.

Louis C.K.

Louis C.K., a four-time Primetime Emmy-winner, picked up the award for Comedy Supporting Actor – Film for his performance in American Hustle.

He beat outThis Is the End’s Danny McBride, Nebraska’s Will Forte, Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues Steve Carell and This Is the End’s Jonah Hill.

The star of FX’s Louie also took home the award for Comedy Special of the Year for his Emmy-winning HBO comedy special Louis C.K.: Oh My God.

The awards, which were launched in 1987, recognize performances and performers in the field of comedy, with an emphasis on television comedy and comedy films.

American Comedy Awards – Winners List

Johnny Carson Lifetime Achievement Award: Bill Cosby
Television SeriesParks & Recreation
Comedy FilmThis Is The End
Concert ComicJim Gaffigan
Comedy Actress, FilmMelissa McCarthy, The Heat
Comedy Actor, Film:Will FerrellAnchorman 2: The Legend Continues
Viral Video: “Bad Lip Reading: NFL”
Late Night Talk Show: Tie – The Daily ShowThe Colbert Report
Comedy Writing, TelevisionModern Family
Comedy Screenplay, FilmThe Heat
Comedy ActressTelevisionAmy PoehlerParks & Recreation
Comedy Special of the YearLouis C.K.Oh My God
Alternative Comedy SeriesKey And Peele
Club Comic: Maria Bamford
Comedy Director, FilmSeth Rogen Evan GoldbergThis Is The End
Supporting ActressTelevision SeriesKate McKinnonSaturday Night Live
Comedy Actor, FilmWill FerrellAnchorman 2: The Legend Continues
Supporting Actor, Television SeriesBill HaderSaturday Night Live

Cuarón Named Best Director at the AARP Movies for Grownups Awards

Alfonso Cuarón really does know how to make movies for grownups

The 52-year-old Mexican filmmaker, nominated for three Academy Awards, recently picked up the trophy for Best Director at the 13th annual AARP Movies for Grownups awards, held at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel.

Alfonso Cuarón

The voting process for the 16 categories took place in early December 2013 and was officially announced in January. Nebraska’s Bruce Dern, who won for best actor, received a standing ovation. Calling the event a “geezer’s dinner,” Dern went on to say, “I’m very grateful, and I’ll tell you why. When Nebraska found out that I won an AARP award, they thought that was the biggest award there is,” joked Dern in his speech.

Cuarón won the award for his critically acclaimed 3d sci-fi thriller Gravity, which has earned numerous awards this season.

When I started with Gravity, I was not eligible to be a member of AARP,” the director joked. “Cinema is transcending generations and I’m grateful for all of you who saw the film. The adversity in the movie is constant in our life and it shapes who we are.”

Meanwhile, Philomena Lee, the real-life inspiration for Philomena, also received a standing ovation as she accepted best actress award on Judi Dench’s behalf, who was in India filming The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel 2

Lubezki Wins American Society of Cinematographers Award for “Gravity”

The (Oscars) future looks bright for Emmanuel Lubezki

The Mexican cinematographer took home an ASC Award at the 28th annual American Society of Cinematographers Outstanding Achievement Awards on Saturday at the Hollywood & Highland Ray Dolby Ballroom.

Emmanuel Lubezki

Lubezki earned the prize in the in the theatrical motion picture category for lensing Alfonso Cuarón’s 3D sci-fi thriller Gravity.

He topped a field of nominees that included Sean Bobbitt for 12 Years a Slave, Barry Ackroyd for Captain Phillips, Philippe Le Sourd for The GrandmasterBruno Delbonnel for Inside Llewyn Davis, Phedon Papamichael for Nebraska and Roger Deakins for Prisoners.

It’s the third ASC feature award for Lubezki, who previously won for Children of Men and The Tree of Life.

The win puts Lubezki in some select company. In the event’s 28-year history, only one cinematographer, the late Conrad Hall, won the feature category an unprecedented four times. And, Lubezki now joins fellow nominee Deakins as the only cinematographers with three wins in the category.

Also this year, Lubezki received his sixth Oscar nomination, and is vying for his first Academy Award.

Here’s a complete list of winners: 

Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC, Gravity

One-hour Episodic Television Series:
Jonathan Freeman, ASC, HBO’s Game of Thrones, “Valar Dohaeris”

Television Movie/Miniseries:
Jeremy Benning, CSC, National Geographic Channel’s Killing Lincoln

Half-Hour Episodic Series:
Blake McClure, Comedy Central’s Drunk History, “Detroit”

Spotlight Award
Lukasz Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski, Ida

Cuarón Earns First-Ever Producers Guild Awards Nomination

Alfonso Cuarón is defying gravity this awards season…

The 52-year-old Mexican director has earned his first-ever Producers Guild Awards nomination, specifically the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures.

Alfonso Cuaron

Cuarón earned the nod for his critically acclaimed hit film Gravity, which has earned him recognition in the director category from several film organizations, including the Hollywood Foreign Press Association, the Broadcast Film Critics Association and the London Critics Circle.

Cuarón, who wrote the film with his son Jonah, is credited as a producer alongside David Heyman on the 3D sci-fi thriller starring  Sandra Bullock.

Other films nominated by the Producers Guild include American Hustle, 12 Years a Slave, Blue Jasmine, Captain Phillips, Dallas Buyers Club, Her, Nebraska, Saving Mr. Banks and The Wolf of Wall Street.

The winners will be announced on January 19, three days before the Oscar nominations are unveiled. The victors will be feted at a gala taking place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.