Steven Canals to Receive New Voice Award at This Year’s Final Draft Awards

Steven Canalsis celebrating a special Final Draft

The Afro-Latino queer writer has been named one of the recipients for the 15th Annual Final Draft Awards, alongside Quentin Tarantino and Lulu Wang.

Steven Canals

Canals, the dynamic co-creator and executive producer of the acclaimed FX original series Pose,will receive the New Voice Award for Televisionprize. 

After numerous Emmy nominations and a win for star Billy PorterPoseis currently a Drama Series nominee for the Critics’ Choice Awards, and was recently included on AFI’s Top 10 Television Programslist. It’ll return for its third season in 2020.

Tarantino will be presented with the Hall of Fame Award for his prolific contribution to the art of screenwriting. 

This year’s New Voice Award for Film recipient is writer-director Lulu Wang whose critically-acclaimed sophomore feature, The Farewell,has been gaining attention throughout awards season. 

Final Draft, a Cast & Crew Company, now in its 29th year as an industry stalwart in screenwriting software, will soon announce the winners of the 2019 Big Break Screenwriting Contest who will also be honored at the event.  Previous Final Draft Hall of Fame Award winners include Aaron SorkinNancy MeyersLawrence KasdanPaul SchraderScott AlexanderLarry KaraszewskiCallie KhouriSteven ZaillianRobert TowneOliver Stone, and Sydney Pollack, among others. 

The New Voice Award was introduced in 2017 and past recipients include Liz HannahIssa RaeBoots Riley and Tanya Saracho.

The 15th Annual Final Draft Awards will take place at Paramount Studios on January 21, 2020 in a ceremony hosted by comedy duo Randy and Jason Sklar.

Leave a Reply