Ciganda Earns Her Second Title on the Ladies European Tour

Carlota Ciganda is having a remarkable year…

Carlota Ciganda

In her first visit to China, the 22-year-old Spanish golfer notched her second title on the Ladies European Tour this Sunday with an impressive victory at the Suzhou Taihu Open.

The tour rookie, who claimed her maiden win in Holland this summer, displayed her extraordinary talent by firing a bogey-free course record eight-under-par 64 in warm and hazy conditions at the Suzhou Taihu International Golf Club.

Carlota Ciganda
Following her top-of-the-standing performance in the second round on Saturday, Ciganda – who made conference history becoming the first back-to-back Pac-10 Champion while attending Arizona State University – romped to a seven-stroke victory with a tournament record 17 under par in the 54-hole event, going one stroke better than world No. 1 Yani Tseng the previous year.

Messi Named Best International Athlete at ESPY Awards

The people have spoken… And, they’ve named Lionel Messi the best of the best…

The 25-year-old Argentine fútbol star—who claimed his third straight Ballon d’Or in January—was named Best International Athlete during Wednesday night’s ESPY Awards, which celebrate the year’s best athletes and moments in sports.


Messi, who plays for Futbol Club Barcelona in Spain’s La Liga, beat out some of the world’s biggest sports stars for the title, including tennis superstar Novak Djokovic, LPGA Championship winner Yani Tseng and his Real Madrid rival Cristiano Ronaldo.

During his record-breaking season, Messi scored 50 goals in La Liga and an unmatched 73 goals in all competitions. He also finished as the UEFA Champions League‘s top scorer for a fourth consecutive season with 14 goals.

But Messi wasn’t the only Latino athlete recognized…

Mario Gutierrez, who rode I’ll Have Another to victories in the Kentucky Derby and Preakness, won as best jockey.

The 25-year-old Mexican jockey beat out Javier Castellano, Ramon Dominguez
 and John Velazquez for the trophy.

Award winners are selected exclusively through online fan voting from the list of candidates selected by the ESPY Select Nominating Committee.