“West Side Story” Star Ariana DeBose Wins Career-First BAFTA Awards Trophy

Ariana DeBose is celebrating a big win across the pond…

The EE British Academy Film Awards have been doled out at London’s Royal Albert Hall, with the 31-year-old half-Puerto Rican actress, singer and dancer among the honorees.

Ariana DeBose,DeBose claimed her first-ever BAFTAs trophy in the Supporting Actress category for her acclaimed performance as Anita in Steven Spielberg’s West Side Story.

DeBose had previously won Golden Globes and SAG Awards trophies for her work in West Side Story, making her the clear frontrunner to take home this year’s Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress.

The in-person ceremony, hosted by Rebel Wilson, celebrates the best in British and international film for the year.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Best film
The Power of the Dog

Outstanding British film

Outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer
The Harder They Fall

Film not in the English language
Drive My Car

Summer of Soul

Animated film

Jane Campion, The Power of the Dog

Original screenplay
Paul Thomas Anderson, Licorice Pizza

Adapted screenplay
Siân Heder, CODA

Leading actress
Joanna Scanlan, After Love

Leading actor
Will Smith, King Richard

Supporting actress
Ariana DeBose, West Side Story

Supporting actor
Troy Kotsur, CODA

Original score
Hans Zimmer, Dune

West Side Story


No Time to Die

Production design

Costume design

Makeup & hair
The Eyes of Tammy Faye


Special visual effects

British short animation
Do Not Feed the Pigeons

British short film
The Black Cop

EE Rising Star Award
Lashana Lynch

Leave a Reply