Marc Anthony Receives Humanitarian Award from Fashion Group International

Marc Anthony is Fashion Group International’s humanitarian of the year…

During the organization’s “Night of Stars” at The Plaza Hotel in New York City, the 55-year-old Puerto Rican singer, songwriter, actor and philanthropist received the Humanitarian Award from his friend of 30 years Narciso Rodriguez.

Marc AnthonyWearing his signature shades, Anthony was honored for his foundation Maestro Cares, which has helped more than 10,000 children in 13 countries with orphanages, counseling, scholarships and other education-driven programs.

He vowed that as of next year he and his foundation would entrust a scholarship program for the next generation of designers. That will be set up through a partnership with Fashion Group International (FGI).

Acknowledging how every person in the room has a team of people behind them, Anthony said, “They’re not nameless to us. They’re faceless to the world. We can stand up here and accept such an honor, but there are so many people behind us,” he said. “Appreciate those people who made us, who we are, right? On behalf of everyone who has made my life what it is today, I want to thank you. And I want to urge everybody here that is as privileged as I am to wake up and thank them.”

Meanwhile, fashion critic Cathy Horyn handed the Fashion Stars Award to Proenza Schouler’s Lazaro Hernandez, who praised her respected and educated opinion before mentioning the “simple, but brutal” New York Times headline for their second show: “Proenza Schouler Separates in Search of a Collection.”

Explaining that Horyn was right, Hernandez said, “You knew we were better than that even before we knew it ourselves.” Still going strong 20 years later with cofounder Jack McCollough, he thanked Horyn for her honesty and willingness to talk through big ideas season after season, “has made us better designers, more nuanced and mature.”

Other honorees included Whoopi Goldberg, who received the American Icon Award; Dennis Basso, the Lifetime Achievement Award winner; and Antoine Phillips, the Agent of Change Award.

Leave a Reply