Pablo Larrain Claims Best Screenplay Award at Venice Film Festival for “El Conde”

Pablo Larrain has the write stuff

The 80th Venice Film Festival has handed out its awards, with the 47-year-old Chilean Oscar-nominated filmmaker claiming a prize alongside co-writer Guillermo Calderón.

Pablo LarraínLarrain was awarded the Best Screenplay prize for co-writing El Conde with Guillermo Calderón.

The Spanish-language film, which Larrain directed, is a historical black comedy that revolves around former Chilean president Augusto Pinochet who is not dead but an aged vampire who, after 250 years in this world, has decided to die once and for all, due to ailments brought about by his dishonor and family conflicts.

In the Horizons category, Margarita Rosa De Francisco took home the Best Actress award for her work in El Paraiso, while Enrico Maria Artale took home the Best Screenplay award for El Paraiso.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Golden Lion
Poor Things, Yorgos Lanthimos

Silver Lion Grand Jury Prize
Evil Does Not Exist, Ryusuke Hamaguchi

Silver Lion Best Director
Matteo Garrone, Io Capitano

Special Jury Prize
Green Border, Agnieszka Holland

Best Screenplay
Pablo Larrain and Guillermo Calderón, El Conde

Best Actress
Cailee Spaeny, Priscilla

Best Actor
Peter Sarsgaard, Memory

Marcello Mastroianni Award for Best New Young Actor or Actress
Seydou Sarr, Io Capitano

Best Film
Explanation For Everything, Gábor Reisz

Best Director
Mika Gustafson, Paradise Is Burning

Special Jury Prize
Una Sterminata Domenica, Alain Parroni

Best Actress
Margarita Rosa De Francisco, El Paraiso

Best Actor
Tergel Bold-Erdene, City of Wind

Best Screenplay
El Paraiso, Enrico Maria Artale

Best Short Film
A Short Trip, Erenik Beqiri

Lion of the Future – Luigi De Laurentiis Award for a Debut Film
Love Is A Gun, Lee Hong-Chi

Audience Award
FELICITÀ (HAPPINESS), Micaela Ramazzotti


Best Documentary
Thank You Very Much, Alex Braverman

Best Restored Film


Grand Jury Prize
Songs For A Passerby, Celine Daemen

Special Jury Prize
Flow, Adriaan Lokman

Immersive Achievement Prize
Emperor, Marion Burger, Ilan Cohen

Leave a Reply