Sandoval’s Mazzy Star Returning with New Album in 17 Years…

Hope Sandoval is returning to the music scene with seasons of music…

The 47-year-old Mexican American singer-songwriter, the lead singer for the alt-rock and folk group Mazzy Star, will end a 17-year hiatus between albums with Seasons of Your Day, the group’s fourth studio set.

Hope Sandoval

Sandoval, who rose to acclaim with Mazzy Star’s 1993 hit song “Fade Into You,” will release the new album on September 24.

Sandoval and David Roback’s 10-track album will feature performances from all the band’s original members, as well as appearances by My Bloody Valentine‘s Colm O Cíosoig and the late Bert Jansch.

Produced by Roback and Sandoval, who reunited in 2011 for a single and live dates, Seasons of Your Day is the band’s first album since the turn of the century and will be released on their own Rhymes of an Hour Records.

Previous albums include She Hangs Brightly (1990), So Tonight That I Might See (1993) and Among My Swan (1996). Their lone entry on the Hot 100 came in 1993 with the No. 44-peaking “Fade Into You.”

The band will release a video for the sleepy, sparsely arranged track “California” next month, and then embark on North American and European tour dates in the fall.

Seasons of Your Day Track List:

  1. In The Kingdom
  2. California
  3. I’ve Gotta Stop
  4. Does Someone Have Your Baby Now
  5. Common Burn
  6. Seasons Of Your Day
  7. Flying Low
  8. Sparrow
  9. Spoon
  10. Lay Myself Down

Leave a Reply