González Iñárritu Earns Three AACTA International Award Nods

Alejandro González Iñárritu is flying high Down Under

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts has revealed its nominations for its fourth annual AACTA International Awards for film in seven categories, with the 51-year-old’s dark comedy Birdman leading the field with seven nods.

Alejandro González Iñárritu’s Birdman

González Iñárritu, who penned and helmed the Birdman script, is nominated in the Best Director and Best Screenplay categories.

The film, starring Michael Keaton and Emma Stone, is also nominated for Best Film.

Here’s the complete list of AACTA nominations:

Best Film
The Grand Budapest Hotel
The Imitation Game

Best Direction
Birdman, Alejandro González Iñárritu
Boyhood, Richard Linklater
The Grand Budapest Hotel, Wes Anderson
The Imitation Game, Morten Tyldum
Whiplash, Damien Chazelle

Best Screenplay
Birdman, Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Armando Bo
Boyhood, Richard Linklater
The Grand Budapest Hotel, Wes Anderson
The Imitation Game, Graham Moore
Whiplash, Damien Chazelle

Best Lead Actor
Steve Carell, Foxcatcher
Benedict Cumberbatch, The Imitation Game
Jake Gyllenhaal, Nightcrawler
Michael Keaton – Birdman
Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything 

Best Lead Actress
Essie Davis, The Babadook
Felicity Jones, The Theory of Everything
Julianne Moore, Still Alice
Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
Reese Witherspoon, Wild

Best Supporting Actor
Ethtan Hawke, Boyhood
Edward Norton, Birdman
Mark Ruffalo, Foxcatcher
Andy Serkis, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

Best Supporting Actress
Patricia Arquette, Boyhood
Keira Knightley, The Imitation Game
Emma Stone, Birdman
Meryl Streep, Into the Woods
Naomi Watts, Birdman

Leave a Reply