America Ferrera Earns Two Astra Awards Nominations from the Hollywood Creative Alliance

America Ferrera is having an Astra-nomical year…

The Hollywood Creative Alliance has revealed its nominees for the 2024 Astra Film and Creative Arts Awards, with the 39-year-old Honduran American actress earning two nods.

America Ferrera, BarbieFerrera picked up a nomination in the Best Supporting Actress category for scene-stealing performance in Greta Gerwig’s box office smash Barbie, which earned a best picture nomination.

Ferrera is also nominated in the Best Cast Ensemble category alongside her Barbie cast mates, including fellow Latina actresses Ariana Greenblatt and Ana Cruz Kayne,

Colman Domingo has picked up three nods…

The 54-year-old Belizean-Guatemalan American actor and social justice activist is nominated for Best Actor for his performance in Rustin, Best Supporting Actor for his performance in The Color Purple and Best Cast Ensemble for The Color Purple.

Ariana DeBose has some Astra Award recognition.

The 32-year-old half-Puerto Rican Oscar-winning actress and singer is nominated for Best Voice-Over Performance for portraying the lead character in Walt Disney Studios’ animated film Wish, while the title track that she performs in the film, “This Wish,” is up for Best Original Song.

Winners of the 2024 Astras film winners will be revealed on Saturday, January 6, during a live-streamed event from the Biltmore Hotel in Los Angeles, beginning at 6:30 pm PT/9:30 pm ET. Comedian Jimmy O. Yang will serve as host.

The Astras creative arts winners will be revealed on Monday, February 26 at City Market Social House in Los Angeles.

Here are nominees for the 2024 Astra Film and Creative Arts Awards in 14 selected categories:

Best Original Song
“Camp Isn’t Home” from Theater Camp, Written by Ben Platt, Noah Galvin, Molly Gordon, Nick Lieberman, and Mark Sonnenblick – Performed by Ben Platt, Molly Gordon, Noah Galvin, Alexander Bello, Bailee Bonick, Donovan Colan, Jack Sobolewski, Kyndra Sanchez, Luke Islam, Madisen Lora and Quinn Titcomb (Searchlight Pictures)

“Dance the Night” from Barbie, Written by Mark Ronson, Andrew Wyatt, Dua Lipa, and Caroline Ailin – Performed by Dua Lipa (Warner Bros. Pictures)

“I’m Just Ken” from Barbie, Written by Mark Ronson and Andrew Wyatt – Performed by Ryan Gosling (Warner Bros. Pictures)

“Peaches” from The Super Mario Bros Movie, Written by Jack Black, Aaron Horvath, Michael Jelenic, Eric Osmond, and John Spiker – Performed by Jack Black (Universal Pictures)

“This Wish” from Wish, ​​Written by Julia Michaels, Benjamin Rice, and JP Saxe – Performed by Ariana DeBose (Walt Disney Pictures)

“What Was I Made For?” from Barbie, Written By Billie Eilish O’Connell and Finneas O’Connell – Performed by Billie Eilish (Warner Bros. Pictures)

Best Score
Elemental, Thomas Newman (Disney/Pixar)
Killers of the Flower Moon, Robbie Robertson (Apple Original Films)
Oppenheimer, Ludwig Göransson (Universal Pictures)
Poor Things, Jerskin Fendrix (Searchlight Pictures)
Saltburn, Anthony Willis (Amazon MGM Studios)
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse, Daniel Pemberton (Sony Pictures) 

Best Documentary Feature
20 Days in Mariupol (PBS Distribution)
American Symphony (Netflix)
Beyond Utopia (Roadside Attractions)
Little Richard: I Am Everything (Magnolia Pictures)
Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie (Apple Original Films)
Taylor Swift: The Eras Tour (AMC Theatres Distribution)

Best Animated Feature
The Boy and The Heron (GKids)
Elemental (Disney/Pixar)
Nimona (Netflix)
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (Sony Pictures)
Suzume (Sony Pictures/Crunchyroll)
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutant Mayhem (Paramount Pictures) 

Best Voice-Over Performance
Ariana DeBose – Wish (Walt Disney Studios)
Bradley Cooper – Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 (Disney/Marvel)
Daniel Kaluuya – Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (Sony Pictures)
Hailee Steinfeld – Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (Sony Pictures)
Jack Black – The Super Mario Bros Movie (Universal Pictures)
Shameik Moore – Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (Sony Pictures)

Best Cast Ensemble
Air (Amazon MGM Studios)
Barbie (Warner Bros. Pictures)
Killers of the Flower Moon (Apple Original Films)
Oppenheimer (Universal Pictures)
The Color Purple (Warner Bros. Pictures)
The Holdovers (Focus Features)

Best Supporting Actress
America Ferrera – Barbie (Warner Bros. Pictures)
Danielle Brooks – The Color Purple (Warner Bros. Pictures)
Da’Vine Joy Randolph – The Holdovers (Focus Features)
Julianne Moore – May December (Netflix)
Rachel McAdams – Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret (Lionsgate)
Viola Davis – Air (Amazon MGM Studios) 

Best Supporting Actor
Charles Melton – May December (Netflix)
Colman Domingo – The Color Purple (Warner Bros. Pictures)
Dominic Sessa – The Holdovers (Focus Features)
Glenn Howerton – BlackBerry (IFC Films)
Robert Downey Jr. – Oppenheimer (Universal Pictures)
Ryan Gosling – Barbie (Warner Bros. Pictures) 

Best Actress
Carey Mulligan – Maestro (Netflix)
Emma Stone – Poor Things (Searchlight Pictures)
Fantasia Barrino – The Color Purple (Warner Bros. Pictures)
Greta Lee – Past Lives (A24)
Lily Gladstone – Killers of the Flower Moon (Apple Original Films)
Margot Robbie – Barbie (Warner Bros. Pictures) 

Best Actor
Barry Keoghan – Saltburn  (Amazon MGM Studios)
Bradley Cooper – Maestro (Netflix)
Cillian Murphy – Oppenheimer (Universal Pictures)
Colman Domingo – Rustin (Netflix)
Jeffrey Wright – American Fiction (Orion Pictures / Amazon MGM Studios)
Paul Giamatti – The Holdovers (Focus Features) 

Best Original Screenplay
Air, Written by Alex Convery (Amazon MGM Studios)
Anatomy of a Fall, Written by Justine Triet & Arthur Harari (NEON)
Barbie, Written by Greta Gerwig & Noah Baumbach (Warner Bros. Pictures)
Past Lives, Written by Celine Song (A24)
Saltburn, Written by Emerald Fennell (Amazon/MGM Studios)
The Holdovers, Written by David Hemingson (Focus Features) 

Best Adapted Screenplay
American Fiction, Screenplay by Cord Jefferson (Orion Pictures / Amazon MGM Studios)
Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret, Screenplay by Kelly Fremon Craig (Lionsgate)
Killers of the Flower Moon, Screenplay by Eric Roth & Martin Scorsese (Apple Original Films)
Oppenheimer,  Screenplay by Christopher Nolan (Universal Pictures)
Poor Things, Screenplay by Tony McNamara (Searchlight Pictures)
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse, Screenplay by Phil Lord, Christopher Miller, Dave Callaham (Sony Pictures) 

Best Director
Alexander Payne – The Holdovers (Focus Features)
Ben Affleck – Air (Amazon MGM Studios)
Bradley Cooper – Maestro (Netflix)
Celine Song – Past Lives (A24)
Christopher Nolan – Oppenheimer (Universal Pictures)
Cord Jefferson – American Fiction (Orion Pictures / Amazon MGM Studios)
Emerald Fennell – Saltburn (Amazon MGM Studios)
Greta Gerwig – Barbie (Warner Bros. Pictures)
Martin Scorsese – Killers of the Flower Moon (Apple Original Films)
Yorgos Lanthimos – Poor Things (Searchlight Pictures) 

Best Picture
Air (Amazon MGM Studios)
American Fiction (Orion Pictures / Amazon MGM Studios)
Barbie (Warner Bros. Pictures)
The Color Purple (Warner Bros. Pictures)
The Holdovers (Focus Features)

Leave a Reply