Silk Sonic’s Bruno Mars Wins Three Soul Train Awards for “Leave The Door Open”

Bruno Mars is the choo choo-sen one…

The Soul Train Awards hosted its annual celebration in the historic Apollo Theater in New York on Sunday night, with the 36-year-old part-Puerto Rican singer and his fellow Silk Sonic mate Anderson .Paak taking home three awards.

Bruno Mars, Silk Sonic, Anderson .PaakBruno Mars’ Silk Sonic single “Leave the Door Open” was named Song of the Year, while the track’s official clip won Video of the Year.

The chart-topping single also earned Mars The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award, alongside the track’s fellow writers Brandon Anderson (.Paak), Dernst Emile Ii and Christopher Brody Brown.

But Mars wasn’t the only Latinx award winner…

Cardi B won the Best Dance Performance award for “Wild Side,” her collaboration with Normani.

Presented by BET, the pre-taped award show featured performances by prominent stars in R&B and gospel.

Hosted by Tichina Arnold and Tisha Campbell, the awards show aims to celebrate the best in African-American culture, music and entertainment.

The 2021 edition of the awards show featured performances by Silk Sonic’s Bruno Mars and Anderson .Paak, Ari Lennox, Lucky Daye, Fred Hammond, Tone Stitch, Musiq Soulchild, Lady Of Soul Award winner Ashanti, Leon Bridges, ELHAE, Summer Walker and Living Legend Award winner Maxwell.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Song of the Year: Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak (Silk Sonic) – “Leave the Door Open”
Album of the Year: Jazmine Sullivan – Heaux Tales
Video of the Year: Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak (Silk Sonic) – “Leave the Door Open”
Best R&B/Soul Female Artist: Jazmine Sullivan
Best R&B/Soul Male Artist: Giveon
Best Collaboration: Wizkid feat. Tems – “Essence”
Best New Artist: Yung Bleu
Certified Soul Award: Charlie Wilson
Best Dance Performance: Normani Feat. Cardi B – “Wild Side”
Best Gospel/Inspirational Award: Kirk Franklin
The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award: “Leave the Door Open” – written by: Bruno Mars, Brandon Anderson, Dernst Emile Ii, Christopher Brody Brown (Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic)

Leave a Reply