Paula Badosa Defeats Ons Jabeur to Reach BNP Paribas Open Final at Indian Wells

Paula Badosa is thisclose to a career first…

The 23-year-old Spanish professional tennis player has earned a spot in the biggest final of her career, after defeating Ons Jabeur, 6-3, 6-3 o Friday to secure her 40th win of the season and advance to Sunday’s BNP Paribas Open final.

Paula Badosa

Badosa, the World No.27 will face two-time champion and former No.1 Victoria Azarenka for the first time for the title.

With wins against Barbora Krejcikova and Angelique Kerber this week, Badosa is looking to beat a third major champion en route to a second WTA title.

Badosa is the first Spanish woman to make the Indian Wells final since Conchita Martinez finished runner-up in 1996 and 1992, and she has done so in her main-draw debut. Seeded No.21, she has lost just one set en route to her second final of the season. Before her win versus Jabeur, Badosa defeated Dayana Yastremska, Coco Gauff, Krejcikova and Kerber.

Badosa’s win over French Open champion Krejcikova in the fourth round was her fourth Top 10 win of what has been a breakout season. She began the season ranked No.70, and Monday, she is projected to make her Top 20 debut.

“Mentally I think I’m very confident,” Badosa said. “I’m believing every point. Every day I’m working very hard as well. I think I’m progressing on a little bit of everything and that’s what is making my level going up. That’s why I’m in a final and playing against the best of the world.”

Diego Schwartzman Given Men’s Sportsmanship Award at the US Open

He may have lost to Rafael Nadalin the US Open quarterfinals… But Diego Schwartzman is still a winner.

The 27-year-old Argentine professional tennis player has been given the men’s 2019 US Open Sportsmanship Award.

Diego Schwartzman

The way Naomi Osaka consoled Coco Gauff after beating the 15-year-old American in the US Open’s third round was admired by many. On Thursday, Osaka was given the women’s 2019 US Open Sportsmanship Award.

Both get a trophy and a $5,000 donation to a charity of their choice.

Todd Martin, the former player who is co-chair of the committee that chooses the recipients, said the two “demonstrated a level of sportsmanship that is even more impressive than their play on the court.”