Fernandez to Serve as the U.S. Women’s Tennis Team Coach at the Olympics

Mary Joe Fernandez is ready to help the U.S. see gold in Rio…

The 44-year-old Dominican American tennis player will coach the U.S. women’s tennis team at the 2016 Rio de Janeiro Games.

Mary Joe Fernandez

The U.S. Tennis Association announced the Olympic coaching staff on Thursday.

The Olympic tennis competition runs from Aug. 6-14.

Fernandez has coached the U.S. Fed Cup team since 2009, and she coached the women’s Olympic tennis team four years ago.

As a player, she won gold medals in doubles at the 1992 and 1996 Olympic Games.

“To be able to represent the U.S. for a fourth time at the Olympics is a tremendous honor,” Fernandez said. “I’m excited and looking forward to helping the top American women as they look to capture medals in Rio.”

The U.S. tennis roster for Rio will be announced in the coming weeks.

Scheidt Earns Fifth Consecutive Olympic Medal at London Games

London Olympics 2012

There’s no denying Robert Scheidt is Brazil’s current all-star captain of the sea…

Robert Scheidt

The 39-year-old renowned sailor and his teammate Bruno Prada claimed the bronze medal on Sunday in the men’s sailing Star competition at the 2012 Olympic Games.

Scheidt’s medal-winning performance at the London Games makes him the first Brazilian athlete to win a medal in five consecutive Olympics. And he’s now tied with renowned sailor Torben Grael as the Brazilian with the most Olympic medals.

Robert Scheidt & Bruco Prada

Scheidt has won two gold, two silver and now a bronze since the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta.

Fredrik Loof and Max Salminen of Sweden sailed a perfect medal race in ideal sailing conditions off the south coast of England to pull off an upset and win the gold. The defending Olympic champions Iain Percy and Andrew Simpson of Great Britain had to settle for the silver.

Robert Scheidt & Bruco Prada

Schiedt and Prada were hoping to be the team to upset the British duo, after beating the British duo at the 2012 Zhik Star World Championship in Hyeres, France, giving the Brazilians their third world title. They’d previously won the worlds in 2007 and 2011.