Arrieta Wins Cy Young Award for Best Pitcher in the National League

Jake Arrieta is a pitching god…

The 29-year-old part-Puerto Rican professional baseball player and Chicago Cubs pitcher won the Cy Young Award for best pitcher in Major League Baseball for 2015, alongside the Houston AstrosDallas Keuchel.

Jake Arrieta

Arrieta handily beat runner-up Zack Greinke in the voting for the National League, while Keuchel received enough votes to squeak past second-place finisher David Price in the American League.

In the National League, Arrieta finished second in innings pitched with 229 and posted a 1.77 ERA, second to Greinke, whose ERA was 1.66. Arrieta had a solid first half of the season, but he caught fire down the stretch, helping the Cubs to the playoffs for the first time since 2008. In his last 15 starts, Arrieta posted a minuscule 0.75 ERA.

Keuchel, who has been with the Astros for four seasons, led the American League in innings pitched with 232 and finished with a second-best earned run average of 2.48. He struck out 216 batters — good for fifth in the league.

Here’s how the voting broke down, from the Baseball Writers Association of America.

American League

  1. Dallas Keuchel, 186 points (22 first-place votes)
  2. David Price, 143 points (8)
  3. Sonny Gray, 82 points (1 second-place vote)
  4. Chris Sale, 30 points (3 third-place votes)
  5. Chris Archer, 29 points (10 fourth-place votes)

National League

  1. Jake Arrieta, 169 points (17 first-place votes)
  2. Zack Greinke, 147 points (10)
  3. Clayton Kershaw, 101 points (3)
  4. Gerrit Cole, 40 points (2 third-place votes)
  5. Max Scherzer, 32 points (13 fourth-place votes)