David Garcia Diaz Earns Ivor Novello Songwriting Award Nomination for “Arise: A Simple Story”

David Garcia Diaz has scoredsome major kudos…

Nominations for the 2020 Ivor Novello songwriting awardshave been announced, with the UK-based Latino sound designer and composer earning a nod.

David Garcia Diaz

Garcia Diaz, who previously earned a BAFTA Games Awards prize for Audio Achievement, earned a nomination for Best Original Video Game Score for his work on Arise: A Simple Story.

Hailing from Epic Games, Arise: A Simple Story is a narrative gamethat sets out on an emotional journey through the bittersweet lives of two people where memories come alive and time bends to your will. 

The prestigious UK honor recognizes the best songwriting of the year.

This year’s event will also feature the new Rising Star Award with Apple Music, with nods for AmahlaCarmel SmickersgillGriff,lullahush and Mysie

Here’s the full list of nominees below.

Best Album:
Ghosteen — Written by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis; performed by Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds
Grey Area — Written by Inflo and Little Simz; performed by Little Simz
The Book of Traps and Lessons — Written by Dan Carey and Kate Tempest; performed by Kate Tempest

Best Contemporary Song
“Black” — Written by Dave and Fraser T Smith; performed by Dave
“Firesmoke” — Written by Dan Carey and Kate Tempest; performed by Kate Tempest
“Must Be” — Written by JAE5 and J Hus; performed by J Hus

Best Song Musically and Lyrically
“Age of Anxiety” — Written and performed by Jamie Cullum
“Crown” — Written by MJ Cole, Jimmy Napes and Stormzy; performed by Stormzy
“Dead Boys” — Written and performed by Sam Fender

Best Original Film Score
For Sama — Composed by Nainita Desai
Midsommar — Composed by Bobby Krlic
Monos — Composed by Mica Levi

Best Original Video Game Score
Arise: A Simple Story — Composed by David Garcia Diaz
Draugen — Composed by Simon Poole
Lost Ember — Composed by Dorian Behner, John Broomhall and Will Morton

Best TV Soundtrack
Euphoria — Composed by Labrinth
Rise of the Nazis — Composed by Tom Hodge
The Crown (Series 3) — Composed by Martin Phipps

PRS for Music Most Performed Work
“Dancing with a Stranger” — Written by Mikkel Eriksen, Tor Erik Hermansen, Jimmy Napes and Sam Smith; performed by Sam Smith and Normani
“Giant” — Written by Calvin Harris, Jamie Hartman, Rag‘n’Bone Man and Troy Miller ; performed by Calvin Harris and Rag ‘n’ Bone Man
“Hold Me While You Wait” — Written by Lewis Capaldi, Jamie N Commons and Jamie Hartman; performed by Lewis Capaldi

Rising Star Award with Apple Music
Carmel Smickersgill