Guillermo del Toro Earns Nod for Society of Composers & Lyricists’ SCL Awards for “Guillermo Del Toro’s Pinocchio” Track

Guillermo del Toro is getting a little love from the Society of Composers & Lyricists.

The 2023 SCL Awards nominations have been announced from the organization, with the 58-year-old Mexican Oscar-winning filmmaker earning a nod.

Guillermo del Toro, Pinocchio,del Toro is nominated alongside Alexandre Desplat and Roeban Katz in the Outstanding Song for a Musical/Comedy category for “Ciao Papa,” the track from Guillermo Del Toro’s Pinocchio.

Cristobal Tapia De Veer has also earned an SCL Awards nod.

The 49-year-old Chilean film and television score composer, arranger, producer and multi-instrumentalist is nominated in the Outstanding Score for Television for his acclaimed work on The White Lotus.

The awards by the Society of Composers & Lyricists, now in their fourth year, will be presented on February 15, 2023, at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles. Actor-musician Darren Criss is set to host.

The Society of Composers & Lyricists is a leading organization for professional film, television, video game, and musical theater composers and lyricists. The 77-year-old organization is focused on education and addressing the creative, technological and legal issues affecting the music for visual media community.

Here are the nominees for the 2023 SCL Awards:

Outstanding score for a studio film
Alexandre Desplat – Guillermo Del Toro’s Pinocchio
Carter Burwell – The Banshees of Inisherin
Michael Abels – Nope
Michael Giacchino – The Batman
John Powell – Don’t Worry Darling

Outstanding score for an independent film
Leo Birenberg, Zach Robinson – Weird: The Al Yankovic Story
Sharon Farber – Brainwashed: Sex-Camera-Power
Ryan Lott – Everything Everywhere All at Once
Rob Simonsen – The Whale
Mark Smythe – The Reef: Stalked

Outstanding song for a musical/comedy:
Alexandre Desplat, Roeban Katz, Guillermo Del Toro – “Ciao Papa” From Guillermo Del Toro’s Pinocchio
Khiyon Hursey, Sukari Jones, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, Mark Sonnenblick – “Good Afternoon” From Spirited
Danny Elfman – “Light the Match” From Central Park
Billy Eichner, Marc Shaiman – “Love Is Not Love” From Bros
Weird Al Yankovic - “Now You Know” From Weird: The Al Yankovic Story

Outstanding song for a drama/documentary:
Diane Warren – “Applause” From Tell It Like a Woman
Taylor Swift – “Carolina” From Where the Crawdads Sing
Lady Gaga, Bloodpop – “Hold My Hand” From Top Gun: Maverick
Tems, Rihanna, Ludwig Göransson, Ryan Coogler – “Lift Me Up” From Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross – “(You Made It Feel Like) Home” From Bones and All

Outstanding score for television
Nicholas Britell – Andor
Siddhartha Khosla – Only Murders in the Building
Bear Mccreary – The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power
Theodore Shapiro – Severance
Cristobal Tapia De Veer – The White Lotus

Outstanding score for interactive media
Nainita Desai – Immortality
Stephanie Economou – Assassin’s Creed Valhalla: Dawn of Ragnarök
Bear Mccreary – God of War Ragnarök
Winifred Phillips – Jurassic World Primal Ops
Christopher Wiliis – Cat Burglar

David Raksin award for emerging talent
Dara Taylor – The Invitation
Anna Drubich – Barbarian
DeAndre James Allen-Toole – God’s Country
Esin Aydingoz – Simchas and Sorrows
Nami Melumad – Star Trek: Strange New Worlds