Miguel Provides New Track for “BET Presents Music Matters Vol. 1” Compilation

There’s no denying that music matters to Miguel… And, nowhe’s proving it. 

BET Networks and its new artist program Music Matters has partnered with Louder Than Life/Red Associated Labels to launch a compilation album series: BET Presents Music Matters Vol. 1, which features new music from the 28-year-old half-Mexican American singer-songwriter.


The compilation, also featuring new music from Big Sean, Mack Wilds, Melanie Fiona and The Internet, will be released June 23 in support of the second annual BET Experience (June 27-29). The three-day music and lifestyle festival culminates with the BET Awards on June 29, hosted by Chris Rock.

Miguel’s track for the 15-track compilation is called “Gravity.”

Now available for preorder at Amazon, the album sports a mix of established acts and rising stars. Music Matters is a multiplatform initiative that provides exposure for groundbreaking talent across BET and Centric, in addition to national tours and monthly showcases.

Miguel, Kendrick Lamar, Elle Varner, J. Cole and Marsha Ambrosius are among the artists who have been spotlighted by Music Matters.

Salaam Remi, who founded Louder Than Life and doubles as executive vice president A&R and production at Sony Music Entertainment, is the executive producer of the BET Presents Music Matters compilation album series. Collaborating with Remi is Kelly G, senior director of music programming for BET Networks.

Here’s the Complete Track List:

1. “Music Matters Theme” — Marsha Ambrosius
2. “Gravity” — Miguel
3. “Prove” — Gabi Wilson
4. “My Crib” (Remix) — Mack Wilds featuring Pusha T
5. “It’s a Man’s World” — Adrian Marcel
6. “Lit” — Bas featuring J. Cole and KQuick
7. “Memories” — Big Sean
8. “Dontcha” — The Internet
9. “Walking Shoes” — Mali Music
10. “Liquid Love” — Chris Turner
11. “Under the Covers” — Curtis Fields
12. “Touch” — Ashley Kimbrae
13. “Cold Case” — Elle Varner
14. “Where It Counts” — Melanie Fiona
15. “Friends and Lovers” — Marsha Ambrosius

Miguel: This Year’s Best New Artist at the Soul Train Awards

Miguel only released his debut single, “All I Want Is You,” last November… But that’s all the time the critically acclaimed crooner has needed to take the music world by storm and start reaping the rewards.

During the 40th anniversary taping of the Soul Train Awards at Atlanta’s historic Fox Theater this Thursday, the 25-year-old half-Mexican R&B singer/songwriter was named the 2011 Best New Artist. He beat out some of the industry’s biggest rising stars, including part-Latino doo wop singer Bruno Mars and soulstress Marsha Ambrosius, to take home the coveted award.


Miguel, who received three nominations for this year’s Soul Train Awards, lost the Best Male R&B/Soul Artist award to Cee Lo Green. But he’s still in the running for the Song of the Year award for his insta-classic “Sure Thing.” The song is facing off against Kelly Rowland & Lil’ Wayne’s “Motivation,” Adele’s “Rolling in the Deep,” Chris Brown’s  “She Ain’t You,” Kayne West’s “All of the Lights” and Jill Scott and Anthony Hamilton’s “So In Love.”

Along with picking up the Best New Artist award, Miguel performed his latest single “Girls Like U.”

Hosted by Cedric the Entertainer at Atlanta’s historic Fox Theatre, the show included special tribute performances to Gladys Knight, Earth, Wind & Fire and the late Heavy D.

Here’s a look at the only four awards (from 11 categories) that were doled out during taping:

Best New Artist

Best Male R&B/Soul Artist
Cee Lo Green

Best Female R&B/Soul Artist
Jill Scott

Record of the Year (The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award)
“Far Away” – Marsha Ambrosius

The 2011 Soul Train Awards will be broadcast on BET and CENTRIC on Sunday, November 27 at 9:00 pm Eastern.